Part VI – I Said Yes

In January, M was being offered a promotion at its headquarter in Italy. We weighed the pros and cons and decided to accept the challenge. Opportunity doesn’t come twice; I’d rather risk everything than regret the chances that we didn’t take. If it didn’t work out, we can always come back. And for me? The answer was very simple. I’ve had enough long distance relationships in my life; my heart chose to follow him wherever he goes.

Right after he has taken the offer, he was being summoned to Italy. I thought I’d be fine being on my own since I’ve been single for so long, instead I felt empty without him. Due to the time difference, we could only speak on the phone over the weekend. I was never needy and work basically dominates my life, therefore it was bearable. And in no time, he was back by my side.

During Chinese New Year, M went to Taiwan with me and my family. The two of us went to Taipei first before heading down to Taichung, where all my relatives are. We went to Beitou for hot spring and hit the night market for my favourite stinky tofu and all sorts of Taiwanese specialities.

On the second day, we slept in and decided to take a short hike to Elephant Mountain. He sprained his ankle over a month ago but it still hasn’t recovered, so he didn’t get to climb onto the giant rock to take Instagramable photos. Before we headed back down, he pointed towards the back of the rock and asked if we could see what’s down that path. Me being adventurous and fearless, got up and made my way without him. When I turned back to check if he’s behind me; he stood there with a glossy wooden box in his hand. I immediately knew what’s inside and I smiled like crazy. We were surrounded by bamboos (and mosquitoes), there was no one else but us two. “I want to have a family with you.”

14224776_10154367783105435_7470185766774392143_n
This was taken in summer 2016. I was wearing the exact same t-shirt on the day he proposed. This is the Instagramable photo spot!

What’s even happier is knowing that your family and friends are equally thrilled. We cannot wait to celebrate this life’s milestone with our loved ones. I am so excited about our new lives and I cannot wait to wake up to him every morning.

 

Leave a comment