Maybe I should… Yes, you absolutely should!

Have you ever had these random ideas that came out of nowhere, but then you pushed it aside and never actually get to do them? “Maybe I should take up dancing”, “Maybe I should volunteer” or “Maybe I should get a pixie cut” – ok, you really got to be extremely brave to do that!

One of the many ideas that popped up in my mind (mostly while I was in the shower) was “Maybe I should start a blog”. Well, you see, I manage two Facebook accounts, one’s private and the other’s for students and parents to keep in touch with me. In the latter, I’d share with them what life in Cambridge is like, in hopes of inspiring the kids to study harder (Aww I miss them).

Recently, I’ve created accounts on LinkedIn and Twitter and subscribed to various books/publishing related websites to network and keep an eye out for opportunities. Not to mention Lent Term just started and am now volunteering as a writer and sub-editor with The Cambridge Student newspaper, I have more than enough on my plate. After attending the publishing panel discussion last night and sleeping on the idea, I decided to start. a. blog . And now you’re reading it!

So you might (or might not) be curious about what made me do it. And here are my rationale: I thought I’d move what life in Cambridge is like here and this platform could also be my writing samples for future employers. I love watching movies, cooking and travelling, so I might share book and movie reviews/recommendations, recipes (I made tiramisu from scratch last Sunday and it was benissimo!) and travel journals/recommendations on this blog. My goal is to post at least once a week. (That reminds me of my goal of working out at least twice a week. I mean cycling counts, doesn’t it? It’s cardio!)

My point is, if you have similar “Maybe I should…” thoughts, don’t push it aside – DO IT! Follow your instinct. You’d rather look back and think “What was I thinking!?” or “I’m so glad I did this!” than “I wish I had done that”. Leave a comment below of your “Maybe I should…” – by doing that, you’re doubling the chances of making it happen!

Ciao. x

399106_420915667926223_247051719_n

2 thoughts on “Maybe I should… Yes, you absolutely should!

Leave a Reply

